Home-made deodorant!

This is my first article and I’ll talk about something that I was really keen to do for so long and for so many reasons, I only started recently.

Doing my own cosmetics! What a big plan…

There is a big difference between buying organic products(cosmetics or household) and making them.

I found out making them is so much more fun than just going to supermarket. It takes time to find the product and time to make them (don’t worry; it doesn’t take more time than taking your car, going to the supermarket and come back!). State of full consciousness! I love it!

Why deodorant? 

I can’t actually remember when I started to use deodorant but since I am young I guess like most of us! It’s crazy what society imposes on us… anyway, that’s another debate… Few years back, I started feeling guilty to use the standard deodorant, to apply it on the armpits. Breast cancer, chemicals…. I knew it was wrong. So, I started to use alum stone peel but found it not so efficient!. When living in France, I used deodorant you can buy in organic shops. Then I moved to Africa and boum…. can’t find my organic deodorant. So I went back to the standard deodorant but I was really feeling bad. So this is one of the first DIY cosmetic I did and it’s so simple.

So take note for 100 grams of product, you will need

  • 6 grams of bee-wax
  • 40 grams of coconut oil
  • 35 grams of baking soda
  • 15 grams of starch or arrow-root (I use Maïzena)
  • 20 drops of essential oils. I love the smell of Ylang Ylang but you can use lavender for example.

DSC02714_BD.jpg

Now you are five steps away from getting you home made deodorant!

  1. Melt the bee-wax in bain-marie.
  2. When completed melted, add the coconut oil and keep mixing with a cooking whisk.
  3. Remove from fire, and add baking soda and starch. Mix until you get a creamy texture.
  4. Add the essential oil.
  5. Pour your mixture in a container. In order to avoid buying, I used a cosmetic container I had for some time (I always keep containers, very useful!)

That’s it! You see its easy right? Now just apply every morning like a cream on your armpits. No need to put too much!

Recipe inspired by Justine’s own

Why bee-wax? If you live in a hot weather country like me, you will note that the coconut oil is liquid and not solid like in Europe for exemple. So if you don’t want to keep your deodorant in the fridge everyday (or it will completely melt), it’s good to use bee-wax to solidify the deodorant.

What do I think of it? I have been using this deodorant for some weeks now and I have to say that I find it very good. I love the smell. Of course if I start exercising, running or sweating a lot, it has its limits but actually like any standard deodorant.

So, to conclude I am very satisfied, I have deodorant for some months (I did the recipe twice). It cost very few money. And I feel soooooooooooo much better. I don’t feel guilty in the morning! For no reason, I’ll go back to standard deodorant 🙂

 

“Beauty is being the best possible version of yourself on the inside and out”

3 thoughts on “Home-made deodorant!

  1. Bon et bien jai plus qua trouve de la beewax…pour le reste jai tout ici!!
    Je te tiens au courant
    Bisousss de ma brousse caledonienne

    Like

Leave a Reply

